Whisper something in my ear…

I love painting with acrylic.  There is just something about the ability to build thick, touchable texture that makes me incredibly happy.

I was recently commissioned to create a painting.  My friend had just made some big changes in her life and gave me only three requirements.  Include greens and blues, create something light and peaceful.

I wanted the painting to have movement, to feel like spring, renewal.  I wanted the painting to remind my friend to be open to whatever is next.  To listen for the small whisper.  When I was done I knew the title:  “Whisper something in my ear, something that I long to hear”.

523

529

538

551

554

The painting is 30.5″ x 30.5″ x 1.5″,  sparkles in the sun and turned out exactly…EXACTLY…as I hoped it would.  OMG, look at that edge.  All bumpy paint.  Waiting to be touched.  It makes the art feel alive to me.

But painting is a process and underneath the final painting were many versions.  Different moods and ideas.  Here is a step by step peek into how this painting came to life.

Here is a hint.  The painting started off WAY too dark, and VERY blue, but I had to go there first.  Start in the darkness and bring it into the light!

I took all of my paints outside and began.  The entire painting was created using rubber painting spatulas.  My favorite acrylic tools!  You will see them in my paint bin, a couple  of photos down.

VLUU L200  / Samsung L200

VLUU L200  / Samsung L200

VLUU L200  / Samsung L200

I love circles, that is obvious, but I also love the motion my arm makes when painting them.  A perfect swoop and curve motion over and over again.

VLUU L200  / Samsung L200

VLUU L200  / Samsung L200

At this point I’m thinking I want to go mostly blue, so I change it up.  Or basically cover the yellow and green up.

VLUU L200  / Samsung L200

This is what my palette looks like as I’m mixing blues and greens with the spatulas.  A painting in itself.

paint

At this point I’ve added in many blues, a little gold…and…it’s just not…right….yet.

VLUU L200  / Samsung L200

I add a few more blues and whites to build texture and make sure about the blues before I change it up.

VLUU L200  / Samsung L200

I place the paint drops on the canvas and let them dry slightly before I pull them.  This makes the most awesome texture.  When painting this way, you can’t be afraid to use paint, lots of paint.  Build it up.

VLUU L200  / Samsung L200

It was still too blue.  I brought out the gold.

VLUU L200  / Samsung L200

VLUU L200  / Samsung L200

And then I knew.  I wanted it to be green, mostly green with yellow and gold.  Light, light LIGHT!

VLUU L200  / Samsung L200

I started to build the greens and tan.

VLUU L200  / Samsung L200

The fun thing is that in the final painting, if you look very closely, you can still see tiny specks of the dark blue from underneath.

554

At one point, when it was green but not quite finished.  I had the idea to cover the painting in blue painters tape in the pattern of flowers.  I didn’t take a photo but it would have had the effect of something like this below.

110

It would have had a solid color with the green underneath popping out.  I spent 5 hours tearing tiny pieces of blue tape to form giant flowers.  And after all that, and looking at it for two days, I realized it wasn’t the right direction and pulled all of the tape off.  I did end up saving it though to use in a future painting.

In the end, the painting had many hues of green, yellow, gold and a pop of sky blue.  I loved it and as with all paintings, it was hard to part with it.  It’s like sending your kid off to kindergarten.  You hope the other kids like him, are nice to him, that he’s warm and happy.  Luckily with this painting I know all is well.  My friend has given it a wonderful home and feels the love and intention I put into it.

523

I LOVE working on commissions.  Tell me your story, where you have been and where you want to go, and I will create your artwork!

www.circlesaregood.com

LIKE circlesaregood on Facebook

This entry was published on November 27, 2012 at 5:45 am. It’s filed under art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Whisper something in my ear…

  1. Bree Jeffries on said:

    Incredible! I love seeing and hearing the process of the work you create!

  2. melikewelike on said:

    Thank you Bree! Feels good to let you all in on the magic. 🙂

  3. jenniferherron on said:

    I love how your process mirrored the life process – ‘have to go into the darkness to find the light’ – that makes this piece all the more precious. It’s all about the journey 🙂 An added bonus is getting a real feel for what it means to slather gorgeous colors on canvas and create. Wow.

  4. melikewelike on said:

    Thanks Jennifer. I’m considering taking video of the process as well and posting. Another window inside. 🙂

Leave a Reply

