Frog, Lizard and Cricket

I was recently commissioned to create three (6″ x 8″) watercolor and ink artworks.  My friend had a specific request.  That I paint a frog, cricket and lizard in greens and browns.  These were going to be baby gifts for a boy’s room.

I loved creating these paintings.  I was also able to add in a few tiny hints of sky blue, teal, yellow and gold.   I had never painted anything like this before so I searched the internet for drawing inspiration.   Once the drawings were complete, I began painting in layers of color, translucent greens and browns, building on depth and darkness.  At the end I added in a few accents of gold.

Here are the paintings with a close up detail of each.

click on image to enlarge

www.circlesaregood.com

LIKE circlesaregood on FACEBOOK

This entry was published on September 9, 2012 at 9:27 pm. It’s filed under art, watercolor and ink and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

