Come Alive, Bloom True!

“Don’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.”  Howard Thurman

I am coming alive!  From my very first memories, I’ve always had a passion for creativity.  From coloring to being totally absorbed by the details of green beans growing around the door of my childhood home, their color, smell and the curly vines; I have always felt connected to light and color, motion and feeling. But in the past year, something entirely new has emerged.  I no longer feel like an outside witness to what is around me or to what I am creating.  Lately I feel…”in it”.  A part of the actual energy of where I am, what I am seeing, experiencing, creating.  It’s different, it’s amazing, it’s energizing….I feel alive!

For me, being intentionally creative breeds more creativity.  Basically, a body in motion, stays in motion.  With each photo I take or painting I work on new ideas flood my head.  The more I write during the day, the more vividly I seem to remember my dreams each morning, and when I write them down, more ideas for paintings and stories pop into my head all day and night. It feels like the water valve has been cranked entirely open and the flow of ideas and creative energy abounds.

A few weeks ago I signed up for an e-course with artist Flora Bowley.  Her “Bloom True” course encourages us to play, let go of control, tune into our intuition, be brave and find our own way of blooming true.  This has been an amazing class and exactly what I needed in this moment to step even deeper into my true self.  Practicing creating, without knowing the outcome, has further freed my energy and unleashed a creative river of ideas.

A couple of weeks before the class started I went on a weekend retreat to a local island for some solo time.  I spent four days writing, painting, thinking and breathing in the ocean air.  While in town one day I saw this tile made by a local artist.  It now hangs by the light switch in my art studio.  Each day I am reminded to continue to bloom toward my true self.  Because what the world needs, what “I” need, is to “come alive”.

Image

Here are a few close up photos from my “bloom true” paintings.  I am about 12 layers in on what may be 20… who knows.  I have no idea yet where these paintings are heading.  The goal is to keep intuitively and joyfully adding in layers.  It has been incredible fun letting go.  You can see more process photos from the class here on my circlesaregood Facebook page.

Image

Image

Image

This weekend I surged into printmaking.  I’d done it a few times before.  At friend’s studios or on a small-scale at home.  This time I went out and bought a few additional helpful items such as a “bench hook”, to place the lino block on while carving, and a “baren” to help press the paper onto the inked surface and ensure all the areas make contact.  I also bought a few more ink colors beyond black.  I was originally inspired by two books I recently purchased.  Print Workshop and Block Printing.  Worth checking out.

Image

My first carving was of this whale.  It’s titled “this whale has something to say”.   I see creating more in this series.  When I asked around to friends what this whale might have to say my favorite response was “Stop those loud sonar booms.  They hurt.”   I carved this on a thin piece of linoleum.  Not an easy surface.  I did try microwaving it for a few seconds and then also put my carving blade over a candle flame at times to soften the linoleum.  It helped a little.

Image

Image

Here is a collection of my wood and linoleum carving scraps.

Image

My next piece was carved from a piece of lino mounted to a wood block.  I almost forgot to carve the letters backwards.  Almost…  This piece ended up being a birthday gift for my guy.

Image

Image

My last piece was carved from a very soft rubber print block.  It has the texture of a soft eraser.  It’s was so nice to cut so easily but you can’t get fine details with this product.  It becomes a little crumbly with over use.I ended up making 35 pod prints/cards in varying shades of orange to brown.

Image

ImageImage

Image

Image

My next project is inspired by my “Bloom True” class and the flowers that are starting an early bloom here in Seattle.  For this method, instead of drawing freehand, I traced a photograph of a cherry blossom and then transferred the drawing to the block.  I haven’t started carving yet.  I plan to have it carved and printed later in the week.

ImageImage

I also prepped a couple of wood panels with acrylic.  I used a palette knife to spread on the paint.  Once dry, I will paint on top.  I love the texture and depth of buttery thick acrylic.  I love the second panel so much, I may just leave it the way it is.

Image

Another project over by the sofa is this red scarf.  I’m almost done.

Image

Another project in the works is to add to our terrarium family.  We already have three but I’m going to add two more.  These two books below have been inspiring.

I am going to create a succulent terrarium in a round fish bowl I picked up at Goodwill the other day.  And with these glass items below, I’m going to grow a bed of moss.

Image

What is it that makes YOU come alive?  What do you daydream about doing?  What did you love to do when you were a kid?   What do you long to do?  What do you keep promising your self that you will do once you have some free time?  Do it now!  Come alive.  The world needs you~

www.circlesaregood.com

circlesaregood on Facebook

This entry was published on March 4, 2012 at 9:39 pm. It’s filed under art, inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

10 thoughts on “Come Alive, Bloom True!

  1. Sojna widmer on said:

    Hi there! I am in your Flora Bowley class and love it! You leaves have magic stars at their tips. I LOVE THEM! The mosiac you made is amazing. I love to see you translate what you love into ink. You are blooming free! Thank you for sharing with us all.
    Sojna

    • melikewelike on said:

      Thank you Sojna and Hi! I love that so many creative people from all over the world are getting to meet each other in this class.

  2. very inspiring! I am now going to try carving just from reading this! I have thought about it but you make it look easy 🙂 Great pictures too thank you for sharing

    • melikewelike on said:

      Thanks Christy. My main suggestion is to never get your hand in the way of the cutting tool because slips do happen out of nowhere. Especially when you are first starting out. Otherwise, yes, easy, FUN and so satisfying when you start to pull the prints. 🙂

  3. So fabulous! Hi Elizabeth… I just found your blog from the Bloom True facebook page and love it! I’m following you and liked your facebook page too… would love it if you’d do the same! You’re prints are so inspiring to me… I’ve wanted to dive into that for some time now! Love the cherry blossom one!!!
    Have a wonderful weekend…
    Artist Renee Mak
    http://www.fussitup.blogspot.com
    http://www.facebook.com/fussitup

  4. Oh my – you are on a roll ! Loved seeing your Flora paintings – I am also a “Florette” or “Bloomer” or what ever we could be called ! Also very inspired to hunt out my lino tools and have another go with that – it fits very well with all those ideas about drawing shapes and natural forms.

  5. Hi Elizabeth,

    Love the quote, so true and loved your post… i too have always been drawn to creativity… and i loved your words about being intentionally creative and in motion… i found the Bloom True class to be so helpful in this forward momentum and looks like you have too! You are on fire! Keep on!

    Sending a hello from a fellow bloomer
    warmest,
    nathalie

    • melikewelike on said:

      Hello Nathalie Thank you for your kind works. I loved the class too. I also took a look at your website and love your paintings and the work that you do in Toronto! Want to make sure other see it too: http://www.nathalievachon.com I look forward to following your blog. Beth

Leave a Reply

