Sasquatch

Last weekend was my (our) 20th Anniversary.  So, what do you get for the guy who has everything?  You paint him a Sasquatch of course.

I laughed the entire time I painted it.  It was especially funny how people reacted when they walked by at the coffee shop while I was painting.  They showed interest as they got closer to see what I was working on.  It soon turned into an “awkward looking away”, unsure of what to say to me…or to even make eye contact as they saw it was a Sasquatch.  Hilarious.

It ended up being the perfect gift.  My guy couldn’t stop laughing when he opened it.  It’s now hanging up in the house.

Here are a few process photos from the painting.

(click on image to enlarge)
 
 

Getting a general sketch down on paper.

 
 

I love segments of color.

 

Don’t worry, the smiley face is just a place holder.

 
 

All done!

 

Did you notice the special segment?

 
 

Sasquatch has a heart.

 
 

I had a few ideas of how to add to the background.  Instead of altering the original painting, I instead showed my guy some options that I sketched out on a few prints.

 
 

This one was my favorite.  I have been thinking about these triangle shapes a lot lately.

 
 

In the end, we left him “au natural”.

I do plan to sell Sasquatch note cards and prints.  If you would like to pre-order, send me an email at circlesaregood@gmail.com.  Maybe I should add in a Loch Ness Monster watercolor as well?

www.circlesaregood.com

This entry was published on November 17, 2011 at 12:52 am. It’s filed under watercolor and ink and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Sasquatch

  1. i love this gift!

Leave a Reply

