In the Kitchen – Veggie Tofu Scramble

I took my creativity to the kitchen today and made a delicious Veggie Tofu Scramble.

I chopped up some carrots, white onion, shallot, garlic, red pepper and spinach.

Sometimes I make up my own spice mix.  Today I used a pre-made mix.  I mixed the dry spices (that also include a little oatmeal) with water and….

…Bragg Liquid Aminos – like soy sauce…but non-fermented and 16 “good for you” amino acids for your body.

Earlier in the day, I wrapped the extra firm tofu block in a towel and pressed it under a heavy pan for an hour to get out as much moisture as possible.

I then crumbled it and set it aside.

I began to saute the carrots, onions, garlic and shallots in a little olive oil.  I also added a little fresh ground pepper.

I cooked them until they were still a little bit crunchy

I had some leftover Tofurky Italian Sausage and ended up dicing it into small pieces and setting is aside for later.

I added in some red pepper near the end of the saute.  I like to keep it crunchy.

My favorite silicone spatula.  It has a metal inner core to keep it bendy yet firm.

I then added the crumbled tofu, Tofurky Italian Sausage and the spice mixture.  I had to add a little water to the spice mix to get it to the right consistency.

Once it was finished cooking, I took it off the heat and added the spinach.

I will eat this during the week for breakfast or lunch.  It’s fantastic in a steamed corn tortilla or mixed with brown rice or quinoa or just by itself.  Yum!

This entry was published on September 25, 2011 at 6:18 pm. It’s filed under in the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “In the Kitchen – Veggie Tofu Scramble

  1. Looks delicious. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

